The Chicken – Part 4 – (Chicken Soup)

Normally when I make Chicken soup, I will use up the leftovers from a Sunday Roast.  I will deliberately prepare and roast too many vegetables and pick all the meat off the bones and boil them to make a stock.

However, this I used a different method.

After cutting up my chicken in Part 1 (https://suhancock.wordpress.com/2013/11/02/the-chicken-part-1/) I put the remaining carcass which still had a fair amount of meat on it into my roasting tin (which has a lid).

I then added a couple of whole carrots, parsnips, a couple of sticks of celery, one red onion, 2 cloves garlic and a bayleaf along with about 1 litre of boiling water.

This then went in the oven at 200 degrees for about an hour.

After allowing to cool a little I removed the chicken carcass and took off all the remaining meat an placed the bones into a pan of water and boiled for about 15 minutes with the bayleaf.

While the bones were boiling I chopped up all the cooked vegetables and added a bit of sage and onion stuffing mix to which i then added the water that had been used to boil the bones.

As I had more than I wanted for the evenings supper, I took out the amount I needed then separated out the rest into containers for the freezer.  In this instance I had enough to give the 2 of us four meals (with some bread)

I will usually add some gravy thickening powder to thicken up the liquid to the preferred consistency.  (You can of course use some flour).

To vary this you can then add other veg such as sweetcorn, or for some carbohydrate try adding some rice or pearl barley (although this takes a while to cook

Great for warming up after a day out in the cold.

One response to “The Chicken – Part 4 – (Chicken Soup)

  1. Pingback: The Chicken – Part 6 (Easy Coronation Chicken) | suhancock

Leave a Reply

