Kippurry

Kippurry

 

Yesterday I was trying to decided what to cook for dinner in the evening.  I had re-sorted the freezer and listed the contents and yet I was still lacking inspiration.  I only knew that it was about time we had something with rice so it was probably going to be some form of risotto.

Later on during a text conversation with hubby I asked him if he had any “requests” for dinner, to which the reply was “something with rice” “curry?”.  Curry was fine by me as I did have some Chicken curry in the freezer, but I didn’t really want to use this as we have already had chicken this week.  He then suggested something like a Kedgeree, “Yes” I said, we have a tin of tuna.

At that point I was in the food section of a well know High Street store getting some bits for Mother-in-Law so I decided to have a look at their fish section to see if they had any reductions.  Well there were no reductions but I did spot a 200g pack of Kippers for £1.35 which also had the freezable logo on it.  “Great” I thought, ” I only need half of that and I can freeze the rest for another time and the total meal will only cost around £1″.  This was greeted with an enthusiastic response from hubby who always enjoys my “creations”

So, here’s what I did;

I already had about 2/3 of a red onion partially chopped in the fridge, so I chopped up half of it some more and popped the rest in the freezer for another day.

In my casserole dish (that can be used on the hob) i put about a tablespoon of oil and started to fry the onion lightly.

I added half a teaspoon each of ground cumin, dried coriander leaf, and ground ginger along with 1/4 teaspoon each of paprika, chilli powder and turmeric and let all this fry together for a couple of minutes.

I then added 1/2 cup of rice (about 100g) and 1 cup of water plus a bit more water and let this all simmer for a couple of minutes.

I then laid about 100g of the kippers on the top (I removed the skin first) and placed the casserole dish in a pre-heated oven at 180 degrees.  (You can continue this on the hob if you prefer)

When the rice had swollen to absorb most of the water, I broke up the kipper with a fork and mixed it in – it needed a little more water added too.  I also added about 1/2 cup of frozen peas and mixed them in.

I broke 2 eggs on top and placed the dish back in the oven.  After about 5 minutes the eggs had cooked enough so that the whites were set but the yolk were still runny.

I sprinkled some fresh chopped parsley over the top and served up.

Yum Yum (and I’m not a fish lover and had never had kippers before!!!)

This made a fairly generous portion for hubby and a small portion for me.

Hubby approved and will probably be requesting this again in not too distant future.

Here’s the list of ingredients (makes 2 “light” portions)

  • 1 tbls Oil
  • 1/2 Red onion
  • 1/2 tsp Ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp Coriander leaf (dried)
  • 1/2 tsp Ground Ginger
  • 1/4 tsp Paprika
  • 1/4 tsp Chilli Powder
  • 1/4 tsp Turmeric
  • 1/2 Cup Rice (approx 100g)
  • 1  Cup water (plus a bit more as required)
  • 100g Kippers
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • 2 eggs
  • Chopped Parsley to garnish.

 

2 responses to “Kippurry

  1. I’m adding in some diced chicken here, plz suggest…

  2. That’s a great idea Ema (although I think it would then be called “Chicurry” I guess you can use whatever you have available

Leave a Reply

